February 16, 2017

Durbin & Duckworth Introduce Legislation Rescinding Trump’s Mass Deportation Executive Order


WASHINGTON, DC - U.S. Senators Dick Durbin and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) joined Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) and 19 other Senators in introducing legislation to rescind President Trump's Executive Order on Interior Enforcement, which directed the Department of Homeland Security to prioritize the deportation of a vast majority of undocumented immigrants living and contributing to U.S. communities and attempted to cut off funding for communities that limit cooperation with federal immigration enforcement.

"Breaking up families and depriving cities of billions of dollars in critical federal funding doesn't make our country safer - it dishonors our heritage as a nation of immigrants," said Senator Durbin. "It's time for Congress to stand up and make clear that we will not be intimidated by the President's bullying. This legislation would end the Administration's mass deportation scheme and begin to lay the groundwork for a smarter, fairer immigration approach. I thank Senator Cortez Masto for her leadership in introducing this bill."

"America is at its best when we welcome immigrants who work hard every day to build a better life for themselves and their families," said Senator Duckworth. "Ordering local officials to needlessly tear families apart is unacceptable - and it compromises public safety in communities across Illinois by fostering mistrust and suspicion between local law enforcement and the communities they serve and protect. I stand with the people of Cicero, of Evanston, of Urbana and of Chicago against these sorts of divisive actions in favor of the inclusive America I know we can be."

Joining Cortez Masto, Durbin, and Duckworth as original co-sponsors are U.S. Senators Mazie Horono (D-HI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory A. Booker (D-NJ), Christopher Coons (D-DE), Al Franken (D-MN), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

View text of the legislation here.