July 31, 2018

Duckworth Helps Introduce Bill to Block Publication of 3D Printable Firearm Blueprints


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) joined U.S. Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL) and 21 of her colleagues in introducing legislation to prevent the online publication of blueprints that can be used to make fully-functioning firearms with a 3D printer. These dangerous weapons are often made with resin or plastic and are virtually undetectable when carried through a metal detector or past security. The introduction of the 3D Printed Gun Safety Act comes after the Trump Administration abruptly settled a lawsuit earlier this month, allowing the blueprints of 3D-printed firearms to be posted online starting Wednesday, August 1st. A federal judge issued a temporary restraining order this evening to block the release of these blueprints, although the order is not permanent.

“The Trump Administration’s decision to allow the online publication of blueprints for undetectable 3D-printed firearms puts the safety of our communities and the security of our nation at risk,” said Duckworth. “While violent criminals and domestic abusers who might otherwise be unable to acquire a firearm might support the Trump Administration’s decision here, the American people need their leaders in Washington to stand up to the NRA and protect our children from needless, preventable firearm violence.”

In 2013, Congress extended a ban on the sale, manufacturing or possession of fully-plastic guns by requiring that all firearms contain at least 3.7 ounces of steel so they can be detected by a metal detector. However, Congress did not mandate which parts of the gun had to be metal – creating a legal loophole allowing a small removable piece of metal to be attached to an otherwise fully-plastic gun. These detachable metal clips can often be easily removed before entering a security screening area and reattached again to meet the law’s requirement.

In addition to Duckworth and Nelson, the bill is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patty Murray (D-WA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Tom Carper (D-DE) and Tina Smith (D-MN).