December 07, 2022

Nominee for Duckworth-Created Position of Disability Advocate on Amtrak Board of Directors Advances out of Committee


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, today released the following statement after the Committee advanced the nomination of David Capozzi to serve on Amtrak’s Board of Directors. If confirmed, Capozzi will serve in the designated disability advocate seat on the board—a position created through legislation authored by Duckworth that was included in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. Capozzi’s position on the Board would ensure an individual with a disability and a demonstrated history or experience with accessibility, mobility and inclusive transportation in passenger rail or commuter rail has a voice on Amtrak’s board.

“I’m proud that my colleagues and I officially advanced David Capozzi’s nomination to the Amtrak Board of Directors today,” Duckworth said. “If confirmed, Mr. Capozzi will give a voice to the disability community and help ensure the over 61 million American adults with a disability are heard. I worked hard to make sure Amtrak’s Board of Directors created this space for a disability advocate, and I look forward to having Mr. Capozzi as a strong leader advocating for Amtrak to go above the bare minimum federal requirements and do more to protect the dignity of passengers with disabilities.”

Capozzi is a retired federal senior executive. He was the Executive Director of the U.S. Access Board from 2008-2020 and was the Director of the Board’s Office of Technical and Information Services from 1992-2008. Prior to joining the Access Board, Capozzi was Director of Project ACTION and Vice President of Advocacy for Easter Seals, and was the National Advocacy Director for the Paralyzed Veterans of America. He was a member of the legal team and lobbying captain for the disability community that helped craft the Americans with Disabilities Act. Capozzi was the lead negotiator on the Department of Transportation’s Federal Advisory Committee that negotiated proposed regulations implementing the Air Carrier Access Act, and chaired the Urban Mass Transportation Administration’s (UMTA) ADA Federal Advisory Committee.