September 18, 2023

Following Their Letter, Duckworth, Durbin Commend Biden Administration for Approving Federal Assistance for Illinois Following Severe Summer Storms Across the State

The Senators led the entire Illinois delegation in calling for federal assistance for affected counties in Illinois


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) today commended the Biden Administration for approving Governor JB Pritzker’s request for Public Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to the State of Illinois, to support 19 Central Illinois counties to recover from storm damage.  From late June to early July, severe storms passed through Central Illinois, producing heavy rainfall, flash flooding, hail, tornadoes and straight-line winds, as well as five tornadoes with winds exceeding 100 miles per hour.  On August 29, Duckworth and Durbin led the entire Illinois delegation in sending a letter to President Biden requesting the federal assistance.

“I’m grateful President Biden heeded the ask and approved Governor Pritzker’s request for public assistance to help Illinoisans across the state recover from the aftermath of severe storms this summer,” said Duckworth. “I’ll continue working with Senator Durbin and Illinois’s entire Congressional Delegation alongside local officials to help ensure this federal support is distributed quickly and equitably to communities and businesses impacted.”

“Severe summer storms have become increasingly common, from flash flooding to hail to tornadoes.  The wreckage these storms leave behind is devastating for our state and its residents,” said Durbin.  “Thankfully, President Biden has recognized the severity of the situation and responded to our request.  Central Illinoisans will get the federal support they need to rebuild their community.”

The counties receiving Public Assistance are Christian, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Hancock, Macon, McDonough, Monroe, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Scott, Vermillion, Warren, and Washington counties.

FEMA Public Assistance provides funds to help communities responding to or recovering from major disasters or emergencies declared by the President.  The allocated funds provide resources for debris removal, emergency protective measures to save lives and protect improved property, and assists with funding to restore damaged community infrastructure.

For more information about Public Assistance, visit