May 17, 2018

Durbin, Duckworth Announce Nearly $170 Million to Support Chicago-Area Housing and Community Development


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today announced that Chicago-area communities will receive $169,139,847 in federal grant funding through programs administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The funding was allocated through HUD’s Community Development Block Grants, HOME Investment Partnerships, Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG), and Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) programs to help state and local governments expand economic opportunities and provide suitable living environments for low-to-moderate income individuals.

“This federal investment will give local agencies in the greater Chicago area the ability to offer affordable housing and homeless assistance to people who need it most,” said Durbin. “I will continue to fight alongside Senator Duckworth to support federal programs that promote the health and well-being of Illinois’ residents.”

“Children and families in need all across the greater Chicago area rely on investments like these that help improve housing conditions and reduce homelessness,” said Duckworth. “Along with Senator Durbin, I’m proud to be advocating for federal funding for programs that foster safe communities and help ensure all Illinoisans have access to the affordable housing they need to get ahead.”

The Community Development Block (CDBG) Grants program provides annual grants to States and local units of government to develop viable urban communities by providing decent housing and a suitable living environment, and by expanding economic opportunities, principally for low- and moderate-income persons. Under this announcement the following communities will receive funding:

• Arlington Heights: $273,974
• Aurora: $1,641,583
• Berwyn: $1,309,067
• Bolingbrook: $413,274
• Chicago: $78,904,033
• Chicago Heights: $556,157
• Cicero: $1,706,247
• DeKalb: $459,532
• Des Plaines: $300,348
• Downers Grove: $187,038
• Elgin: $885,279
• Evanston: $1,788,178
• Hoffman Estates: $243,193
• Joliet: $950,751
• Kankakee: $526,678
• Mount Prospect: $244,793
• Naperville: 546,835
• North Chicago: $241,329
• Oak Lawn: $322,581
• Oak Park: $1,686,004
• Palatine Village: $481,496
• Schaumburg Village: $336,386
• Skokie: $590,950
• Waukegan: $893,440
• Wheaton City: $226,389
• Cook County: $10,249,388
• DuPage County: $3,540,356
• Kane County: $1,358,219
• Lake County: $2,641,496
• McHenry County: $1,413,382
• Will County: $1,677,509

The HOME program helps to expand the supply of decent, affordable housing to low- and very low-income families by providing grants to States and local governments to fund housing programs that meet local needs and priorities. Under this announcement, the following communities will receive funding:

• Aurora: $750,553
• Chicago: $20,803,171
• Evanston: $384,889
• Cook County: $6,764,251
• DuPage County: $1,823,932
• Kane County: $921,335
• Lake County: $1,684,900
• McHenry County: $591,629
• Will County: $1,284,391

The Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) program provides annual grants to State, local, and private entities to assist people in quickly regaining stability in permanent housing after experiencing a housing crisis and/or homelessness. In addition to rapid re-housing and homelessness prevention, the ESG program also provides limited funding for street outreach as well as for improving the quality and number of emergency homeless shelters.

• Aurora: $136,287
• Chicago: $6,490,003
• Cicero: $141,357
• Evanston: $146,023
• Oak Park: $137,063
• Cook County: $843,885
• DuPage County: $290,385
• Lake County: $216,362
• Will County: $141,915

The HOPWA program provides housing assistance and related supportive services to local units of government, States and non-profit organizations for projects that benefit low-income persons medically diagnosed with HIV/AIDS and their families.

• Chicago: $9,009,631