March 15, 2019

Durbin and Duckworth Help Introduce Bipartisan, Bicameral Resolution Celebrating Contributions of AmeriCorps Members and Alumni


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) joined Senators Chris Coons (D-DE) and Bill Cassidy (R-LA), along with U.S. Representatives David Price (D-NC) and Doris Matsui (D-CA), to introduce a resolution recognizing the contributions of AmeriCorps members and alumni to the lives of Americans in celebration of AmeriCorps Week 2019. Over 75,000 Americans serve their communities, states, and the nation through AmeriCorps programs each year, totaling more than one million AmeriCorps alumni since the program's founding in 1994. These one million AmeriCorps members have contributed more than 1.5 billion hours of service helping to tackle our nation's most pressing problems and mobilizing millions of community volunteers.

“Every single day, countless Americans serve their country in and out of uniform – with a hammer to rebuild homes, chalk to teach in schools or resource centers and serving spoons to help feed our communities,” said Senator Duckworth. “AmeriCorps National Service Programs provide essential and valuable services and resources for communities throughout our nation, and bring together people from all walks of life to work toward the shared goal of serving our country. I’m proud to join Senator Coons in introducing the AmeriCorps Recognition Resolution to honor current national service participants and the more than one million AmeriCorps alumni who have served since the program was founded more than two decades ago.”

"From big cities to rural towns, the AmeriCorps National Service Program has been a source of assistance and support in communities for more than 20 years. AmeriCorps volunteers are empowered as stewards of our communities and develop valuable leadership skills. They come from all ages and backgrounds to mentor students, help people access affordable homes, rebuild after disasters, and much more,” Durbin said. “Senator Duckworth and I will continue our strong support for funding that aids the great work being done by AmeriCorps volunteers across our state and country and I’m proud to honor them during AmeriCorps Week 2019.”

“Commitment to service that builds, engages, uplifts, and empowers is at the very heart of what it means to be American,” said Senator Coons. “My time with the first national direct AmeriCorps program changed my life in the best way possible, and I continue to be inspired by what AmeriCorps members are doing every day in Delaware and across the country to address critical community needs and give back – both during and after their service. AmeriCorps provides an important conduit through which our citizens become engaged in civic society, and I am proud to recognize this service during AmeriCorps Week 2019.” 

“AmeriCorps members dedicate their time to serve their communities and are a valuable resource for those in need,” said Dr. Cassidy. "Time and again they've helped the people of Louisiana recover in the wake of terrible disasters."

“I’m heartened by the service of thousands of AmeriCorps members that choose to invest their time and energy to strengthen communities in North Carolina and across the country,” said Congressman David Price. “As co-chair of the National Service Caucus, I’m proud to join my colleagues in celebrating their contributions.”

“Service to our country comes in all forms and attracts people of all ages and backgrounds with the sole goal of helping meet community needs and increase civic engagement,” said Congresswoman Matsui. “Across the country, citizens join together to respond to disasters, increase economic opportunity, and recruit and manage volunteers. I am proud that this resolution recognizes the service programs that impact individuals and benefit our communities and our nation.”

Co-sponsors of the resolution include Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), John Boozman (R-AR), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tom Carper (D-DE), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Ed Markey (D-MA), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Jon Tester (D-MT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Ron Wyden (D-OR), along with Representatives Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Betty McCollum (D-MN), and Seth Moulton (D-MA).