March 31, 2022

Duckworth Joins Schatz & Colleagues in Introducing Resolution to Celebrate International Transgender Day of Visibility


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Today, U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) joined U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI) and a group of 16 Senators in introducing a resolution to recognize the achievements and courage of the transgender, nonbinary, gender-nonconforming and gender-diverse communities around the world, and to celebrate International Transgender Day of Visibility.

“On this International Transgender Day of Visibility and always, we celebrate the resilience of transgender, nonbinary and gender nonconforming Americans and their basic right to be their most authentic selves without fear, shame or discrimination,” said Duckworth. “As the transgender community continues to endure horrific, targeted violence and with a wave of anti-transgender bills being proposed in states across the country, I’m proud to join Senator Schatz and my colleagues to introduce this resolution to commemorate Transgender Day of Visibility and send a strong, unified message to our fellow Americans: we see you, we hear you and we will never stop working to advance true equality for all of us.”

“International Transgender Day of Visibility is about celebrating the transgender, nonbinary, gender-nonconforming, and gender-diverse communities around the world—their achievements, their courage, and their right to live authentically and openly. But it is also about raising awareness of the discrimination and violence they still face today. While we have made significant progress over the years—thanks to the bravery of many transgender leaders—the work for full equality, acceptance, and civil rights protections continues,” said Schatz.

Along with Duckworth and Schatz, the resolution is co-sponsored by U.S. Senators Ed Markey (D-MA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tom Carper (D-DE), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Michael Bennet (D-CO) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM).

International Transgender Day of Visibility was founded in 2009. Since then, the transgender community has seen many visible leaders in both government and popular culture.

A similar resolution was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives by U.S. Representative Jennifer Wexton (D-VA-10).

The full text of the resolution can be found here.