July 13, 2017

Duckworth Helps Introduce Bill to Prevent Creation of Cybersecurity Unit with Russia


WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) joined U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) and 12 other senators to introduce legislation to prevent the creation of a cybersecurity unit with Russia in light of the Russian government's attacks on our election infrastructure and interference in the 2016 presidential election. The bill is a response to President Trump's suggestion that the United States should partner with President Vladimir Putin to create a joint cybersecurity unit. The No Funds for Cyber Coordination with Russia Act of 2017 would also require President Trump to publicly acknowledge the validity of U.S. intelligence findings that Russia interfered in the 2016 election and call on the President to work with Congress to establish a non-partisan, independent commission to investigate Russian security breaches.

"Establishing a cybersecurity unit with the very foreign government whose cyber-attacks compromised our nation's security in the first place is not only foolish - it's dangerous," said Duckworth. "Let me be clear: Russia is not our friend. Our nation must take a strong and independent approach to protecting our election infrastructure, and further interference from Russia has no place in that process."

Improving our nation's cyber security remains one of Duckworth's top priorities. Duckworth is an original cosponsor of the Helping State and Local Governments Prevent Cyber Attacks Act (HACK Act) to improve the security of U.S. election systems by helping ensure state and local governments have the resources they need to protect confidential election information and our democracy. She also recently helped introduce the Small Business Development Center Cyber Training Act to expand cybersecurity training programs for small businesses and reduce the risk of cyber-attacks. Earlier this week Duckworth reiterated her call for the Trump Administration to focus on the known cyberattacks Russia has launched on our election infrastructure.

U.S. Senators Ben Cardin (D-MD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Al Franken (D-MN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Patty Murray (D-WA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kamala Harris (D-CA) and Jeff Merkley (D-OR) are also original cosponsors of the No Funds for Cyber Coordination with Russia Act of 2017.