June 28, 2019

Duckworth, Durbin Help Introduce First Ever Bipartisan Senate Resolution to Honor the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising

Today marks 50 years since brave Americans at New York’s Stonewall Inn stood up to oppression and discrimination


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – To commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising today, U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) joined Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Senate Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) in introducing the first ever bipartisan U.S. Senate resolution to recognize and honor Stonewall’s significance. Stonewall is an important moment in American history that helped spark the modern LGBTQ movement for equal rights in communities across the country.

On June 28, 1969, the New York Police Department raided the Stonewall Inn, a bar in New York’s Greenwich Village frequented by the LGBTQ community. But several brave Americans, led in particular by transgender women of color, stood up to the police violence, inspiring an uprising at the Stonewall Inn and the surrounding area that lasted days. On June 6, 2019, the NYPD Commissioner issued an official apology on behalf of the NYPD, stating, “The actions taken by the NYPD were wrong—plain and simple.”

“On the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising, it is important that we all remember the incredible, radical courage it took to fight against injustice and dare to disrupt,” Duckworth said. “Hundreds of people gathered around a tavern who refused to be silenced, belittled and forced to adhere to a status quo that treated them as less-than. Stonewall sparked a powerful movement for LGBTQ+ rights that continues today. I’m proud to support this resolution to honor the legacy of the Stonewall Uprising in making our country a better, fairer and stronger place.”

“The Stonewall Uprising launched the fight for equal rights for LGBTQ Americans that continues today.  What started with a few brave individuals standing up and speaking out has grown into a national and global movement.  I’m proud to introduce this resolution with my colleagues commemorating the 50th anniversary of this historic and important moment,” Durbin said

Full text of the resolution is available here.

Additional Senate cosponsors of the resolution include Senators Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tina Smith (D-MN), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Ron Wyden (D-OR).