June 02, 2022

Duckworth, Durbin, Chicago Delegation Announce $12 Million In Funding For MWRD

The Funding Comes After The Lawmakers Urged The Army Corps Of Engineers To Include The Funding In The FY22 Work Plan


[CHICAGO, IL] –U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), and members of the Chicago delegation today announced that the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Fiscal Year 22 Work Plan included $12 million in funding for the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD). While the funding was awarded to reimburse MWRD for its work on the design and construction of Thornton Composite Reservoir, MWRD plans to use the reimbursed funds toward a new flood control project in the historically underserved and low-income community of Robbins, Illinois.  The Robbins project will create a naturalized stormwater retention facility to divert water overflows from Midlothian Creek.

In March, the lawmakers wrote a letter to Assistant Secretary of the Army for Civil Works Michael Connor urging the USACE to include the $12 million in funding in the Army Corps’ FY22 Work Plan.

“Chronic flooding and contamination issues from overflow have plagued towns like Robbins for far too long,” Duckworth said. “Thanks to the work of MWRD and support at the federal level, we’re going to help create a future where sewage flooding, contamination and water pollution aren’t the norm. I’m proud to support this effort alongside Senator Durbin to help improve water infrastructure, and I look forward to seeing the impact this critical federal support has on our communities that need it most.”

“Today’s announcement is a step forward in supporting environmental justice communities that have historically seen underinvestment in their infrastructure.  The completion of the Thornton Composite Reservoir by MWRD provided flood protection to 14 communities. I look forward to MWRD continuing this work using these federal funds for a flood control project in Robbins,” said Durbin.

U.S. Representatives also involved in securing this funding are U.S. Representatives Sean Casten (D-IL-6), Jesús “Chuy” García (D-IL-4), Robin Kelly (D-IL-2), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL-8), Marie Newman (D-IL-3), Mike Quigley (D-IL-5), Bobby Rush (D-IL-1) and Jan Schakowsky (D-IL-9).