May 08, 2018

Duckworth, Durbin Announce Nearly $100,000 for Rural Facilities in Illinois


[WASHINGTON, DC] — U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) announced $98,100 in federal funding today to assist rural communities in Southern and Central Illinois with purchasing new vehicles and equipment. This funding comes from the Community Facilities Direct Loan & Grant Program, which is within the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development. The program allocates grant funding for rural communities to improve community facilities such as local food systems, utility services, educational services, public safety services, health care facilities, community support services and public facilities.

“Investments like these help rural communities protect and serve families throughout Illinois,” Duckworth said. “I’m pleased to continue working with Senator Durbin to help ensure that communities all across our state receive the federal support they deserve.”

“The equipment purchased with this federal funding will be a boost to public safety and local economies,” Durbin said. “Senator Duckworth and I will continue fighting for federal investments like this that help our rural communities.”

Under this announcement, the following projects will receive USDA funding:

Court Appointed Special Advocates (Franklin County): $4,400 to help purchase new office equipment
Sesser Fire Protection District (Franklin County): $25,000 to help purchase a new fire vehicle
City of Newton Police Department (Jasper County): $25,000 to help purchase a new police vehicle
Village of Industry (McDonough County): $25,000 to help purchase a new municipal truck for the county water and sewer departments
Village of Beecher City (Effingham County): $18,700 to help purchase and install a new early warning siren

USDA Rural Development invests in local facilities across the country through loans and grants to unserved and underserved rural communities. These resources provide much-needed facility improvements that help business development, homeownership, community services and public safety.