March 10, 2021

Duckworth, Durbin Announce $168 Million for Housing and Homeless Assistance in the Chicagoland Area


[WASHINGTON D.C.] – U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) today announced that Chicagoland communities will receive a total of $168.8 million in federal grants from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for affordable housing and homelessness programs.

“Children and families in need across the Chicagoland area rely on programs like theseespecially during this public health and economic crisisto help improve housing conditions and reduce homelessness,” Duckworth said. “Along with Senator Durbin, I’m proud to advocate for federal funding that will help ensure all Illinoisans have access to the affordable housing they need.”

“Everyone deserves a safe and affordable place to call home,” Durbin said. “These federal programs are critically important to addressing homelessness and housing insecurity throughout Chicagoland, especially at a time when so many are facing economic hardship as a result of COVID-19. I will continue working alongside Senator Duckworth to bring federal resources to communities in need during this challenging time.”

Community Development Block Grants

The Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) program provides annual grants to states and local units of government to develop viable urban communities by providing decent housing and a suitable living environment, and by expanding economic opportunities, principally for low- and moderate-income individuals. The following communities will receive CDBG funding:

  • Arlington Heights: $280,136
  • Aurora: $1,475,747
  • Berwyn: $1,318,918
  • Chicago: $78,932,301
  • Cicero: $1,739,219
  • Des Plaines: $313,508
  • Elgin: $833,318
  • Evanston: $1,816,493
  • Hoffman Estates: $238,301
  • Joliet: $919,509
  • Kankakee: $601,653
  • Mount Prospect: $280,999
  • Naperville: $549,589
  • Oak Lawn: $324,639
  • Oak Park: $1,629,530
  • Palatine Village: $477,902
  • Schaumburg Village: $401,548
  • Skokie: $602,373
  • Waukegan: $785,669
  • Cook County: $10,609,753
  • DuPage County: $3,872,463
  • Kane County: $1,365,187
  • Lake County: $2,884,928
  • McHenry County: $1,398,050
  • Will County: $2,078,020

HOME Investment Partnerships Program

The HOME Investment Partnerships program helps to expand the supply of decent, affordable housing to low- and very low-income families by providing grants to states and local governments to fund housing programs that meet local needs and priorities. The following communities will receive HOME funding:

  • Aurora: $752,348
  • Chicago: $19,636,882
  • Evanston: $358,643
  • Cook County: $6,577,051
  • DuPage County: $1,794,890
  • Kane County: $937,832
  • Lake County: $1,662,483
  • McHenry County: $613,922
  • Will County: $1,264,010

Emergency Solutions Grants

The Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) program provides funding to engage individuals and families living on the street; improve the number, quality, and operations of emergency shelters for individuals and families experiencing homelessness; provide essential services to shelter residents, rapidly re-house homeless individuals and families, and prevent families and individuals from becoming homeless. The following communities will receive ESG funding:

  • Chicago: $6,780,426
  • Cicero: $145,250
  • Evanston: $156,606
  • Cook County: $881,906
  • DuPage County: $299,023
  • Lake County: $225,934
  • Will County: $145,937

Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program

The HOPWA program provides housing assistance and related supportive services to local units of government, States, and non-profit organizations for projects that benefit low-income persons medically diagnosed with HIV/AIDS and their families. Under this announcement, the following community will receive HOPWA program funding:

  • Chicago: $10,914,782