March 11, 2021

Duckworth, Capito, Shaheen, Collins Pass Bipartisan Resolution To Honor Girl Scouts of America


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Susan Collins (R-ME), co-chairs of the Girl Scouts’ Honorary Troop Capitol Hill, today re-introduced a resolution recognizing the 109th birthday of the Girl Scouts of America and celebrating its legacy of building powerful female leaders. The Senate passed this resolution upon introduction by voice vote.

“Not a day goes by that I don’t use the leadership skills Girl Scouts helped teach me as a young woman,” said Senator Duckworth. “For more than 100 years, Girl Scouts have taught generations of girls the value of service and how to ‘be prepared’ wherever they go – in business, science, public service and beyond. I’m proud to re-introduce this bipartisan resolution with Senators Capito, Shaheen and Collins to commemorate and honor this legacy.”

“For over a century, the Girls Scouts have helped instill core values and confidence in young women across the nation,” Senator Capito said. “As a U.S. Senator and a Girl Scout alum, I know firsthand what girls can achieve when they feel encouraged, empowered, and supported. The Girl Scouts program encourages girls to grow into strong leaders in whatever field they love and excel in. Whether it’s through education, STEM, or entrepreneurship, Girl Scouts are building the next generation of female leadership in our country.”

“For over a century, the Girl Scouts have built young girls’ confidence and empowered them to become leaders in their communities and later in their careers. As a former Girl Scout myself, I know firsthand the value of the work they do in our communities, and it’s shaped my approach to public service as Senator,” said Senator Shaheen. “I’m proud to join this bipartisan resolution to recognize the 109th birthday of the Girl Scouts as we build the next generation of women leaders.”

“As a former Girl Scout in my home town of Caribou, Maine, I have such fond memories of earning badges, and I remember how wonderful it was to learn new skills,” said Senator Collins.  “The character, volunteerism, and leadership skills that Girl Scouts build contribute greatly to our society. Girl Scouts taught me that determination, principles, and respect for others can take you everywhere you want to go—including to the halls of the United States Capitol.  This resolution celebrates 109 years of the Girl Scout organization, as they continue to educate and empower young women in Maine and across the country.”

The bipartisan Duckworth-Capito-Shaheen-Collins resolution also recognized the 2020 National Gold Award Girl Scouts recipients, which hail from regions throughout the country: Natalie Aulwes of Los Alamos, New Mexico; Kiara Baxter of Chesapeake, Virginia; Kennedy Jeffers of Greensboro, North Carolina; Siya Kalra of Johns Creek, Georgia; Therese Malinowski of Downers Grove, Illinois; Callie McCaffery of Bakersfield, California; Carly Nieman of Kenosha, Wisconsin; Abigail Plunkett of Houston, Texas; Alex Rudick of Trussville, Alabama; and Julia Trjillo of Arvada, Colorado.

Text of the resolution is available here.