January 09, 2018

Duckworth and Durbin Join Markey to Announce Milestone in Effort to Restore Net Neutrality Rules


[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Today, U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) joined Senator Edward J. Markey (D-MA) to announce that more than 40 senators have co-sponsored a Congressional Review Act (CRA) to overturn the repeal of net neutrality rules. In December, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) voted to give internet providers the ability to freely block or slow down consumers’ access to the internet. The Senators asserted that they will force a vote on the resolution to restore the 2015 Open Internet Order. Video of Duckworth at today’s press conference is available here.

“The decision by President Trump and Chairman Pai to repeal net neutrality last month put the future of the internet – and our economy – in jeopardy,” Duckworth said. “Net neutrality ensures every American has access to a level playing field online, which enables our small businesses to stay competitive and protects startups from being crushed by big corporations before they even have the chance to get off the ground. I’m proud to join my colleagues in pushing back against the Administration’s efforts to end net neutrality, and I won’t back down until we stop the FCC’s repeal of this rule once and for all.”

“When the FCC rolled back net neutrality rules and effectively permitted providers to freely block, slow down, or manipulate a consumer’s access to the internet, Senate Democrats promised to fight this radical and reckless plan," Durbin said. "Reaching this critical threshold on the CRA now means we can hold a vote to reverse this horrible decision. I look forward to casting my vote in favor of net neutrality because every single Illinoisan deserves a free and open internet.”

“Last month, the FCC turned a deaf ear to millions of Americans standing up for a free and open internet and instead gutted net neutrality,” said Markey. “The anti-consumer regulations passed by the Trump administration takes away a fundamental right that ensures the internet is a diverse, dynamic and open to everyone. We can force a vote to restore net neutrality and level the playing field away from the big corporations. There will be a political price to pay for those on the wrong side of history. Momentum is on our side.”

Senators co-sponsoring the CRA resolution include Markey, Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Richard Blumenthal (D–CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Gary Peters (D-MI), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Tom Udall (D-NM), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Bob Casey (D-PA), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Jon Tester (D-MT), Angus King (I-ME) and Bill Nelson (D-FL).